

ARF Seminar on Regional Confidence Building and the Law of the Sea Tokyo, Japan 3-4 December, 2015

List of Participants

Co-chairs

- Yoshihiro Katayama
 Director, Maritime Security Policy Division, Foreign Policy Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan (Host and Co-chair)
- 2. Le Quy Quynh
 Director-General of Department of Maritime Affairs
 Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Vietnam (ASEAN Co-chair)
- V.D. Sharma
 Director, Legal & Treaties Division
 Ministry of External Affairs, India (Co-chair and Session 2 speaker)

Speakers

Opening

- 4. Hitoshi Kikawada Parliamentary Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan
- Naoya Okuwaki, Ph.D. Professor School of Law, MeijiUniversity

Session 1

- Robert Harris, Ph.D.
 Assistant Legal Adviser for East Asia and Pacific Affairs, United States Department of State
- Mariko Kawano, Ph.D.
 Professor
 Faculty of Law, Waseda University

Session 2

Kentaro Nishimoto, Ph.D.
 Associate Professor
 School of Law, Tohoku University

Session 3

XUE Guifang
 Chair Professor
 KoGuan Law School, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

Nguyen Thi Lan-Anh, Ph.D.
 Deputy Director-General
 Institute for South China Sea Studies, Diplomatic Academy of Vietnam

Session 4

11. Gilberto G.B. Asuque Deputy Chief of Mission Philippine Embassy

12. J Ashley Roach Senior Visiting Scholar and Global Associate Centre for International Law, National University of Singapore

Australia

13. Peter Macfarlane
Sea Law, Environment Law & Antarctica, International Legal Brunch
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

14. Imogen Evans Second Secretary, Political, Australian Embassy Tokyo

Bangladesh

15. A K M Monirul Hoque Assistant Secretary Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Brunei Darussalam

16. Jefferson Leong
Second Secretary
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

17. Abhar AhmadResearch OfficerMinistry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Cambodia

18. Sereyvath KY
Researcher
International Relations Institute of Cambodia

Canada

19. Chris Dickinson Defence Attaché Embassy of Canada

China

20. Weiming Yang
Deputy Division Director
Ministry of Foreign Affairs

21. Baohua Yang Second Secretary Ministry of Foreign Affairs

22. Tao Pan
Staff
Ministry of Foreign Affairs

23. Dan Zhang Research Fellow China Institute for Marine Affairs, State Oceanic Administration

24. Yonghui Xie
Director for Regional Policy Division,
Department of Regional and Global Affairs, Embassy of the People's
Repubic of China in Japan

The European Union

25. Michael Reiterer
Senior Advisor
European External Action Service

26. Ana Isabel Sanchez Ruiz

First Counsellor

Delegation of the European Union to Japan

<u>Indonesia</u>

27. Budi Atyasa

Staff

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

28. Daniel Ardiles Simanjuntak

ASEAN Desk for Legal and Human Rights Affairs Ministry of Foreign Affairs

29. Lily Savitri

ASEAN Desk for Political Affairs

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

30. Redo Ferdiansyah

Head of Section – ASEAN Political and Security Affairs Ministry of Foreign Affairs

31. Aisyah Allamanda

Staff – Directorate of Politic security and territorial Treaties Ministry of Foreign Affairs

32. Ricky Ichsan,

First Secretary of the Political Function Embassy of the Republic Indonesia

<u>Japan</u>

33. Shige Watanabe

Director

Ocean division, International Legal Affairs Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

34. Ichiro Shimogaite

Deputy Director

Ocean division, International Legal Affairs Bureau, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

35. Takeshi Kodo

Maritime Security Policy Division

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

36. Toshihiko Horiuchi Cabinet Counsellor Headquarters of Ocean Policy, Cabinet Secretariat

Tomohiro Kondo
 Cabinet Official
 Headquarters of Ocean Policy, Cabinet Secretariat

Republic of Korea

38. Jongin Bae
Minister-Counsellor
Embassy of the Republic of Korea

Jeongyeol Kwak
 Second Secretary
 Embassy of the Republic of Korea

40. Young Shil Kim
First Secretary
Ministry of Foreign Affairs

<u>Malaysia</u>

41. Zarina Abd Razak
Assistant Secretary
National Security Council, Prime Minister's Department

42. Nawi Abdullah
Assitant Director of Survey (International Maritime Boundary)
Boundary Affairs Division, Department of Survey and Mapping

43. Nurul Atiqah Shahruddin Assistant Director Ministry of Foreign Affairs

<u>Myanmar</u>

44. Thi Da Oo
Deputy Director General
Union Attorney General's Office

New Zealand

45. Paul Roberts
First Secretary
New Zealand Embassy

Pakistan

46. Ali Javed

Deputy Chief of Mission Embassy of Pakistan Tokyo

47. Gui Qaiser Sarwani

Third Secretary

Embassy of Pakistan Tokyo

48. Adnan Javaid

Third Secretary

Embassy of Pakistan Tokyo

Philippines

49. Anwar Ito

Principal Assistant

Office of ASEAN Affairs, Department of Foreign Affairs

50. Benito Valeriano

Assistant Secretary

Maritiem and Ocean Affairs Office, Department of Foreign Affairs

51. Edwin Gil Mendoza

Director

Maritime and Ocean Affairs Office, Department of Foreign Affairs

Russia

52. Andrey Dmitrichenko

Counsellor

The Embassy of the Russian Federation in Tokyo

Singapore

53. Lu Liu

Desk Officer

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

54. Matthew Chek

Country Officer

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Thailand

55. Chollthanasorn Pistasat

Policy Analyst

Office of the National Security Council

56. Chaiya Patanan

Deputy Director

Military Legislation Division, Office of the Judge Advocate General, Royal Thai Navy

57. Usana Berananda

Director

Political-Security Division, Department of ASEAN Affairs

58. Thipsuda Khamtho

Second Secretary

Political-Security Division, Department of ASEAN Affairs

Timor-Leste

59. Leandro De Jesus Amaral

Desk Officer

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation

The United States

60. Mark K. Yang

Second Secretary, Political section

Embassy of the United States of America

Vietnam

61. Thanh Tuan Tran

Official

ASEAN Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

ASEAN Secretariat

62. Thi Ha Hoang

Assistant Director of Political Cooperation Division

ASEAN Secretariat

Others

63. Takako Ueta

Professor

International Christian University

Seminar Secretariat (MOFA)

- 64. Yusuke Fukuda
 Maritime Security Policy Division
 Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- 65. Ryusuke Echigoya Maritime Security Policy Division Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- 66. Daigo Ikuta

 Maritime Security Policy Division

 Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- 67. Masayoshi Nishihara Maritime Security Policy Division Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- 68. Akira Ichimiya
 Maritime Security Policy Division
 Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- 69. Tomohiro Sato Maritime Security Policy Division Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- 70. Yoko Kurihara
 Maritime Security Policy Division
 Ministry of Foreign Affairs